Places + Spaces: Rec Room Miami, FL

 

Rec Room Miami
Rec Room, Miami, FL

 

Before Art Basel 2015, I had never heard of the lowkey Miami hotspot, Rec Room. The only reference I had to a place with this title was, perhaps, my occasional YMCA or summer camp visit during elementary school. Nonetheless, I had come to Art Basel to do one of two things during my first ever trip to Miami: A) See some freaking amazing artwork, and B) Party my face off. And honey, did I do the latter (no seriously – my falsies were about 3/4 of the way off my eye lids.)

Rec Room has all the makings of the dopest club scene. The namesake started in New York as part of the swanky nightclub, No.8 at W. 16th street, bearing a somewhat obscure, but still sort of trendy, name that doesn’t seem overly pretentious. When I Googled its website, the place basically seemed like you would be going to your “play” cousin’s, best friend’s, basement during the hottest house party ever — literally and figuratively. And that chill vibe is essentially what the club is trying to convey. It describes itself in an equally cool nature as a,”relaxed downstairs lounge at the Gale South Beach hotel with DJs, drinks & a retro ’70s look.

Almost immediately, I fell in love with Rec Room Miami’s music selection (a mix of old school jams and new age classics), and of course its aforementioned relatable atmosphere. Hooked doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel about this place. I sweated until my hair looked more like a Jheri curl than a top knot and I would still go back — I regret nothing.

 

Rec Room Miami
A fuzzy memento of my Rec Room experience with the boyfriend

 

Rec Rooms are blooming everywhere, with now 3 clubs spanning locations in Miami, New York, and Aspen. Even if you’re a resident of the West Coast, I would still suggest making a trip to this hot spot a night life priority, ASAP. The turntables are waiting.

Rec Room
The Gale Hotel
1690 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Leave a Reply

